Weekend in the Amalfi Coast

 

 

A couple of weekends ago 3 friends and I headed to the Amalfi Coast. It was crazy to us that we had planned it 6 weeks prior, thinking of it as our last hoorah before we go our separate ways, and it was already here! Friday was a day filled with various forms of transportation as we made our way from Florence to Atrani (about a 10 minute walk from Amalfi), where we would be staying for the weekend. Our bus ride from Salerno to Atrani was an unforgettable one to say the least. The views were gorgeous, if you could stand to have your eyes open, as we winded around the steep cliffs, honking our horn constantly to remind others we were there and stopping & starting allowing for cars to squeeze by. Even myself, who doesn’t get car sick often was more than grateful when my feet were back on pavement safely!
Upon arrival in Atrani we were in awe of what a beautiful location we had found ourselves in, where the bright blue water crashed against rugged cliffs and quaint houses were stacked between the hills. On the shore you could find hundreds of pieces of beach glass, reminding me a little bit of home. The Amalfi coast is what I imagine what a combination of Portugal & the Greek Islands would be like.

Saturday we got up & onto a ferry headed for the island of Capri. Our first excursion in Capri was a ride on the chairlift up to the top of the island to get a grand view from above, which did not disappoint.

Following we raced back down the mountain to catch our boat tour at 2! I had booked us a private boat tour through Capri tours rather than doing the touristy blue grotto tour. We were driven around the island stopping at the love grotto, swimming through the green grotto, white grotto, and passing through the famous rocks that makeup Faraglioni. We truly felt like royalty stopping wherever we liked to swim, snorkeling around & enjoying the scenery while jamming out to good tunes! The boat tour was the best $40 I’ve probably ever spent & I will be reliving that day forever!

Arriving back in Capri, we ran to catch our ferry ride back to Amalfi where we found ourselves exhausted from all of the fun in the sun. We sat down at one of the bar/cafes near our hostel & enjoyed watching a soccer match before calling it a night.
Sunday we laid by the beach for the majority of the day, resting before a busy last week of classes began. In the afternoon we wandered the streets of Amalfi where you could find some of the largest lemons I’d ever seen in my entire life! I also tried my first ever cannoli, hard to believe after living in Italy for almost 2 months! I didn’t dislike it, but I think I’ll stick with the gelato 🙂


We headed to bed early after deciding how many alarms (and listening to every possible ring tone–thanks guys!) we would need to wake us up to catch our 6:15 AM taxi appointment. The taxi ride back to Salerno was much more enjoyable than the bus ride and before we knew it we were on our way back to Florence to catch our afternoon classes!
These girls have made even the stressful travel situations, fun & entertaining & I’m gonna miss that so much!

IMG_0486

Leave a comment